Senator Brett

Step off the Edge, Feel Your Lungs!

For All The Lovers Out There (Excerpt from the short story “The Absence of Tomorrow”)

Leave a comment

Excerpt from “The Absence of Tomorrow”

by Senator Brett

She ran into the kitchen and breathlessly asked him, “How… why… do you love me?” And, it stopped him cold.

He turned and looked at her, her face softened by the glow of the amber light. “Why?” he asked. “How, you ask?” And then he paused and added, “I love you like how my favorite song reminds me of forgotten and cherished moments and places. I love you how every time that I see your face, your lovely face, it turns my very insides into something better then they were before. I love your crooked and beautiful smile, your slight pause, your internal light… I love your very Reason.” He stopped and then leaned forward over the kitchen table, “And, I love how you make me forget that one day I may die.”

She smiled and whispered, “But, my Splendid, we all die, one way or another.”

He looked deep into her eyes and said, “Yes, I know… but, only a rare few of us get to do so knowing that we once held something as wonderful as you.”

From some engagement shots I took for some wonderful people and friends.

From some engagement shots I took for some wonderful people and friends.

Author: senatorbrett

I guess the best term to describe me is "Tex-Mex... at its best and worst!" I am a native Houstonian who loves all things "sports", Spanish red wines, cooking, hoppy beers, women with low standards, way too much television, watching movies on rainy days and using the term "the cat's pajamas" even when it doesn't make much sense. www.senatorbrett.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

