Senator Brett

Step off the Edge, Feel Your Lungs!

TOTD – Braille is Hard to See?!

Leave a comment

Thought of the Day – Braille is Hard to See?!

by Senator Brett

The National Federation  of the Blind in Baltimore, Maryland is a fine place that does good for a lot of special needs people; however… if you’ve ever driven through Baltimore you can’t help but see the gargantuan sign that they have for their building. It is huge. I remember the first time I saw it I thought, “Well, shit… you can make it as big as you want, but they still can’t see it!” And, then it got me to thinking…

1. As a person gets older, do they lose sensitivity of touch… and if so, do the people who make books in Braille have to make bigger bumps?

2. Somewhere in the world there has to be a door sign that says “Pull” in Braille, but was installed incorrectly on a “Push” door. Finding that door should be my life’s mission.

3. Why don’t they make Braille Paint by Numbers? Seems unfair.

4. If I have to read the lines on an eye chart to determine the quality of my eyesight; shouldn’t blind people have to run their fingers over a Braille chart that gradually goes smaller in bumps to determine exactly how blind they happen to be?

Anyway, these are the things that I think of when I have been on the road for too long.

Have a good one, folks… and, as always, remember… it’s not the sudden stop at the end of the fall that gets you… it’s probably going to be God smiting you down for having sarcastic remarks at those less fortunate… at least, it will be that way for me. 🙂

Your Friendly Senator

Do not try to learn this by rubbing your hands on the screen!

Author: senatorbrett

I guess the best term to describe me is "Tex-Mex... at its best and worst!" I am a native Houstonian who loves all things "sports", Spanish red wines, cooking, hoppy beers, women with low standards, way too much television, watching movies on rainy days and using the term "the cat's pajamas" even when it doesn't make much sense. www.senatorbrett.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

