Senator Brett

Step off the Edge, Feel Your Lungs!

TOTD – The Question of The Eternal Sign?!

4 Comments

Thought of the Day – The Question of The Eternal Sign?!

by Senator Brett

The other night I was looking through some news articles online and I noticed a story on the Westboro Baptist Church and how its members (a.k.a. nutjobs) will protest military funerals with signs that read, “God Hates Fags” or “Adulterers, Sodomites and Heathens will burn in hell!”… and it got me to thinking…

How come we never see protests outside of a Christian function by atheists? While the Westboro Baptist Church is definitely an anomaly of the Christina faith, their stance on protesting is not original by any means. I’ve seen lots of protests… from supposedly good Christian people, organized by supposedly good Christian churches… at places like: Target stores, Planned Parenthood facilities, Rock-n-Roll concerts, magazine headquarters and about anywhere else where there is a gathering of people that in engage in a belief system other than Christianity.

Just once… just once… I’d like to see a Pat Robertson speaking engagement being protested by atheists. They could hold up signs that say, “You are all delusional and are going to die and go to… uh, well, we aren’t sure!” or “Your lifestyle choices are contrary to the laws of… well… we don’t know!” or “The science is not in yet so we are just holding these signs in the likely chance that we are right!” Or, perhaps they could hold up one of my two, personal favorite signs… The “Why am I holding this damn sign?! I don’t even care!” Sign and The “My uncle Steve makes a killer chili… just thought you should know!” Sign.

And, instead of having huge banners with scriptures on them they could hold up banners with “E=mc2” or “The sun is the center of our solar system!” or “Free Galileo!”

Look, all I am saying is that as a liberal Christian I find it unsettling when we splay our ignorance for the world to see and mock, but as a member of humanity… I really wish the atheists would pick up on all these missed opportunities to bring some levity to the collective conversation.

Have a good one, people… and as always… remember… it’s not the sudden stop at the end that gets you. What destroys you, and us all, is ignoring the one sign that we should all adhere to, “Treat others as you would treat yourself.”… which is not exclusive to an any one religion or thought process.

Your Friendly Senator

That Einstein was such a prankster!

Author: senatorbrett

I guess the best term to describe me is "Tex-Mex... at its best and worst!" I am a native Houstonian who loves all things "sports", Spanish red wines, cooking, hoppy beers, women with low standards, way too much television, watching movies on rainy days and using the term "the cat's pajamas" even when it doesn't make much sense. www.senatorbrett.wordpress.com

4 thoughts on “TOTD – The Question of The Eternal Sign?!

  1. Very nice. I struggle with this more than I should I mean if Christians truly had what they claim they want we would be living in a theocracy similar Afghanistan I am sure. If Athesits protested Pat Robertson we would never hear the end of the “we are so persecuted for the cause of Christ” argument. I would like to consider my self a liberal Christian, but I am afraid that I am just a liberal with phantom pains from a Christian upbringing 🙂

    • Yeah, I struggle with the same thing… sometimes I’m more liberal, sometimes more Christian… but whichever I happen to be, the other is always still there, somehow.

  2. I think atheists have more important things to worry about. I come from a pretty religious family, so I know the frustration of having a very different viewpoint and never being able to “get each other.”

Leave a Reply

